Santer Replicated!

If at first you don’t succeed, try again. If you still don’t succeed, try re-writing your code! That’s what I did and as I previously reported, I correctly implemented Santer’s FORTRAN program in R. I am extremely pleased to report that I have satisfactorily replicated his T2LT temperature anomaly series for GISS AOM RUN 1. I’ll let the plots below do the talking.


Now the differenced series …


For those of you interested, here’s what the model run looks like out to the end of the 21st century.


This entry was posted in Climate models, MSU weighting functions, Santer, Synthetic MSU. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Santer Replicated!

  1. lucia says:

    Cool going!

  2. Jeff Id says:

    Nice work. That’s going to be a problem matching the ground data.

    What do you plan to do next with it?

    • Chad says:

      Thanks for your comment.

      I’m going to clean up the code since I basically threw it together after modifying it for the upteenth time. I’ll basically process all the AR4 data and produce time series like Santers’ PCMDI FOIA release (global, NH, SH, tropics, etc).

      What do you mean exactly by “matching the ground data?”. Do you mean “matching” it in that the SST/surface data use a different grid map?

  3. John A says:

    Now can we add the satellite record from 2000 and how well this model is really performing?

  4. Jeff Id says:

    John summed up my thoughts. I was referring to the fact that it doesn’t look like satellite and modeled are going to fit well with the extended dataset.

    I hope you’ll consider doing a post on the code for this.

Comments are closed.